T0p 5 It Cosmetics Products (+1)

Hello everyone and welcome back to my blog! I appreciate your patience with me during my week and a half off. My sisters and I lost our last remaining two grandparents within a few days of each other, and I definitely wasn’t in the headspace to put meaningful content up. But I’m back, I’m ok, and I’m really excited to share these amazing products with you.

As a member of IT Cosmetics’ IT Girl Superheroes Program (click this referral link to join, and I get some more points!), I was lucky enough to gather enough points to win one of their regular contests. They sent me an email letting me know I had won their top 5 products, and asked for a little more information to make sure they were sending me items that match my complexion. They must have been feeling extra generous, because they decided to send me an additional product to try on top of my stated prizes! 20170214_175328.jpg

The first package I received from IT contained two deluxe sized samples of their Confidence in a Cream along with a little information on the product, and a cute bracelet. I’m not sure if I missed an email somewhere, but I was not expecting to receive this package. It goes without saying that I feel so special because they sent me an extra gift. Upon taking my first look at the product claims I was really excited to see it contains hyaluronic acid. Hyaluronic acid is naturally occurring in our skin, eyes, joints, and connective tissues. For the sake of brevity, I’ll just tell you a little bit about what it does for the skin. Hyaluronic acid applied topically via skincare products helps to improve the skins appearance by providing hydration. It’s often included in anti-aging formulas because it actually plumps the skin and increases its elasticity, so over time the skin is smoother. Pretty awesome, right?

In addition to all of the benefits that one ingredient alone provides, the cream also claims to increase firmness and reduce discoloration and the appearance of pores. I’ve now been using the cream as part of my nightly skincare routine for more than a month, and I can confirm that all of the claims are true. I had recently noticed some age spots on the bridge of my nose and the apples of my cheeks that have since begun to fade with this cream. My skin is noticeably softer and I don’t even have my usual dry patches around my mouth and nose. My skin feels firmer and smoother overall, and the radiance of my skin also seems enhanced because of this cream. This really is a super cream! While it’s pretty jam-packed with ingredients, this cream is light on the skin and soaks in really well. You’re not left with that tacky mask-like feeling after applying it. It has a surprisingly citrus-like fragrance to it, but it doesn’t smell like chemicals.

I gave one of the samples to my mom to try when I received them, but she had an allergic reaction to it. She got some of those skin colored bumps that took some time to get rid of. Her skin is a bit more sensitive than mine, so that seems about right. Because of her experience, I have to say that this might not be the best night cream for someone with sensitive skin.

Confidence in a Cream can be purchased in 2 0z pots for $48. Initially that sounded a bit too pricey for me, and I got a little discouraged thinking I wouldn’t want to spend that much on a cream. The deluxe travel size pots I own are .5 oz, and I haven’t used up .5 oz of product during this past month. Therefore, I estimate 2 oz of product would last me at least four months. $12 a month for cream seems totally worth it to me now, especially after seeing its power. I will most definitely be purchasing the full size once my samples are used up.

The next package that arrived contained the remaining 5 full-sized products IT had originally promised me. Out of these items, the product I was most excited to try was definitely the Your Skin But Better CC+ Color Correcting Full Coverage Cream. As you might know, I’m a huge YouTube watcher. And ever since this product was released a few months ago, I’ve heard nothing but amazing things about it.

The packaging for this cream is perfect. The 1.08 oz tube contains a pump for controlled and easy dispensing. I’ve found that one pump is more than enough product to cover my entire face. I usually apply it with my fingers so no product is wasted on a brush or sponge. The products thick consistency provides complete coverage comparable with full coverage foundations, but with the comfort of a simple moisturizer. The cream has a light citrus scent that disappears when the product dries down. It contains physical sunscreen ingredients to provide 50+ UVA/UVB protection (for about two hours), and it also includes an anti-aging serum.

As you might recall from previous posts, I struggle with my BB creams/foundations wearing off around my nose and mouth because I’m constantly blowing and scratching my nose. I always set them with powder, and spray with a setting spray, but still have that issue. This past month I’ve been setting the Your Skin But Better cream with the Bye Bye Pores powder that IT sent over. As you can imagine, I’ve done quite a bit of crying and hugging during the past couple weeks due to the deaths in my family, and I was stunned when I noticed how well these products stood up to the tears and touching. I wore this CC cream set with the Bye Bye pores powder to all of my grandparents services, and still had product and coverage on my face when it was time to remove my makeup at the end of the day.  I can’t tell you how amazing that is. Normally some tears would completely wreck all of my makeup, but theres something about these specific products together that create magic. Aside from tears, my cry face is horrifically red and puffy, but this CC cream kept all of that covered up, so I was looking pretty good for a grieving person, I have to say. Furthermore, I noticed the cream + powder combo is really good at controlling oil. I usually get slightly oily in my T-zone during the day, but noticed none whatsoever with these products.

IT sent me the Medium shade, and there are only four additional shade options available. I Screenshot_20170222-145744.jpgreally hope they add a few darker options so the darker beauties can benefit from this product, too (c’mon IT). 1.08 oz of product costs $38. Again, this price would originally make me pass on the purchase, but as with the Confidence in a Cream item, I have to say this price is totally appropriate. If I don’t discover something better in the meantime, I will also be purchasing this product once my freebie runs out.

Initially, I wasn’t expecting too much from the Bye Bye Pores translucent powder, but now I understand the hype surrounding this product. Just like the CC cream, I’ve been hearing lots of good things about this powder on YouTube. I enjoy using the Laura Mercier translucent setting powder, and I feel like that gives a sort of airbrushed look to the skin. The Bye Bye Pores takes that airbrushed appearance up a notch because it really does fill in larger pores. My skin looks pretty flawless with this powder on, and as I mentioned above, it’s virtually funeral-proof. It even contains anti-aging and antioxidant ingredients. $24 will get you .23 oz of powder, and if you use it carefully as I do, that will last you a really long time. Another definite purchase-to-be!

I mentioned in one of my recent posts that I’ve been achieving my best brows by using just a powder. I haven’t had the best luck with the few brow pencils I’ve tried – they just didn’t impress me much, so I wasn’t too excited about Brow Power. Upon my first use, however, I was hooked. The product is really firm to the point that I was expecting it to tug at my skin. Instead, it glides on really easily. The product can be built up, so their claim of it being a universal color actually make sense. 20170222_153959.jpgUnless your brows are blonde, I think this pencil would work great on most brows. The tip of the pencil isn’t very fine, but I don’t feel like it’s difficult to control because it’s so firm. Some brow pencils are frustrating to work with because once you use a spoolie to distribute the color evenly, it almost completely disappears. This product, however, blends in really well with the included spoolie, giving brows a really full but natural look. I didn’t think IT could put anything cool into this item, but they did. The formula contains biotin (hair vitamin) and saw palmetto (prevents hair-loss)! This brow pencil costs $24 and also comes in a Super Skinny version for the same price. I have to say that this is yet another item I want to purchase once I use up this free one.

I originally tried ITs Bye Bye Under Eye anti-aging concealer way back in February of 2016, as I received it in that month’s Ipsy bag. I really fell in love with it, as it’s the only concealer that completely covers my dark circles without first color correcting them. It’s a super thick and creamy concealer that really goes a long way. I’ve almost run out of my first purchased tube, so winning this giveaway is perfect timing. There are only four shades of this concealer, so again I hope IT comes out with some additional shades. Some of the claims of this concealer say that this concealer never cracks or creases, Since it is so thick it does need to be set with powder, so in my experience if you do that, you will definitely never see creasing or cracking. I’ll continue to purchase this concealer, and you can get your own too for only $24.

The last gift in my package was the IT Superhero Mascara. This was another item I’ve tried before, but in this case had not gotten a chance to purchase. You can see my original review in September’s Ipsy Glam Bag review. I don’t really have much to add to my original thoughts except to state that this mascara didn’t run all over my face if it got wet from the tears. I didn’t experience clumping or stickiness either. This is yet again another item from IT that I will be purchasing in its full size once my gift runs out.


What did you think about all of these products? I think they’re pretty impressive. I’d love to hear about your experience with them if you’ve gotten the chance to try them. Also please let me know if you think there’s a product I really need to try!

 

 

2 responses to “T0p 5 It Cosmetics Products (+1)

Leave a Reply

