Products I’ve Been Trying

Hello everyone, and welcome back to my blog! I hope you got to check out my Beauty Wishlist Items 2017 post – I’m sure there are things on that list that you’re wishing for too. To keep with the laid back theme this week, I’ve completed my list of items I’ve been trying out and I wanted to share some of them with you.

Too Faced Unicorn Tears Lipstick

I’ve never tried a Too Faced lipstick before, so I really had no idea what to expect. I was lucky enough to come across “Unicorn Tears” before it became impossible to find. 20170207_16143120170207_161531I grabbed mine from HSN.com just before they stopped selling it. I’m so glad I did. The packaging is durable and expensive-feeling. The lipstick itself has a lovely, light scent and no flavor whatsoever. I don’t know about you but I cannot stand lipsticks that taste weird. I’m not eating them, mind you, but since it’s on my mouth I tend to get a taste here and there, and Unicorn Tears doesn’t do that. Unicorn Tears is a beautiful cool-toned pink with obvious blue reflects. It was hard to capture on camera, but hopefully you’ll get the idea.

While I can’t find this lipstick for sale anywhere, I’ve heard that Too Faced will be releasing a similar/redone shade to replace it soon. Keep your eyes out for that one.

Born Pretty Stamping Polish

20170212_181004This nail polish looked like my holographic dreams come true online. I found it on Wish for only $1 plus a couple dollars for shipping. The polish did not disappoint in real life. The only thing is this bottle is tiny – 6 ml for $.99, so there was only enough for two complete, three coat applications. I chose three coats to create extra dimension in the reflective particles to really make that holographic effect pop. I won’t be buying this brand again as I’d love to try some new holographic polishes from other cruelty-free brands. Super Chic has some awesome inexpensive options. If you click and purchase through the previous link I make a small commission!

L.A. Colors lip, blush, eye stick

This stick is designed to be a multi-purpose item, and it performs well for all three uses. The wear time seems to be excellent as well, as long as you prime and set everything properly. The only thing I didn’t like was the scent.  I’ll only continue to use this as a blush and eye pencil.  This color Pink Satin BP435 is a beautiful lilac color that translates beautifully on the skin.

333.pngElf  Mellow Mauve Blush

This blush is so beautiful – it’s the perfect cool-toned mauve color that has a pretty, slightly blue shift. It doesn’t show up blue on the skin, but rather gives you a beautiful slightly reflective finish. It’s become one of my favorite blushes. I paid about $3, and you can find Elf in most drugstores.

20170216_095442Kestrel Powder Brush

I’ve struggled to find a blush brush that isn’t too dense, to big, or too stiff. When I spotted this one at TJ Maxx for only $7.99, I thought it looked promising. It’s fluffy, so it picks up the perfect amount of product and distributes it on the skin evenly. The brush head is concentrated enough to fit my cheek perfectly. It’s also luxuriously soft with a super lightweight. I remember the packaging stated that the brush fibers are infused with charcoal, which is supposed to prevent the spreading of bacteria. To me, that’s a little gimmick-y because brushes should be washed and disinfected regularly otherwise things like blemishes and texture tend to become a problem. Overall I’m really happy and I feel like I’ve found the perfect blush brush.

Wet n’ Wild Photo Focus Setting Spray (all day wear) spray.png

If you’ve read any of my blog posts, you know Wet n’ Wild is one of my favorite brands. I hadn’t gotten the chance to try out this spray because my local stores always seem to be sold out. I finally got my hands on it and I’m really happy with its performance. The spray itself has a kind of odd chemically smell when you initially spray it, but it dries very quickly and the smell goes away. It leaves behind a very natural satin-type finish (this is not a mattifying setting spray) that actually does prolong the wear time of my makeup. I will be buying this again. It costs only $4!


Have you tried any of these products? What did you think of them? Let me know what else you’ve been trying lately that I need to try too!

Much love

-Feliz

Leave a Reply

