Sephora Birthday Items/Empties

Hello, everyone and welcome back to my blog! I have a few more items that I’ve used up since I last did an Empties post. A lot of these items were some I received back in October when I did some shopping for myself for my birthday.

I’ve been a member of Sephora’s rewards program (I’m not a VIB – yet) since last year, but I have been enjoying taking advantage of some of the perks the rewards program offers. Every year, Sephora will give you a free gift you can redeem in stores or online, and I wanted to take advantage of that. With each order, you can also select 3 free samples to try. In my birthday order, I got my gift, my three samples, and a Sephora brand powder brush. Actually, I landed up with two samples – I’m not sure if the third sample I selected was out of stock, or if they just forgot to include it in my box.

Dior Fix It 2-in-1 Prime & Colour Correct

This was the first sample I was really excited to try, because Dior. I’ve never tried anything from their brand before and I was really excited. I got to try all four colors of corrector, but wasn’t too impressed. For being a Dior product, I kind of expected to be blown away by the formula but I wasn’t. It was a little too creamy on the skin, making it move around instead of stay where you applied it, and would make whatever products I put over it do the same. Instead of adding the “prime” into “Prime & Colour Correct” Dior would have done well to just include the color corrector. The primer in their formula actually makes things less ideal for applying makeup over, instead of creating a good surface on which to apply your other products.

Each of the four Fix It 2-in-1 sticks retail for $36 on Sephora’s website. On Sephora’s site are 35 reviews from people who seem to really enjoy the product, but only enough to award the product four out of five stars. As someone who is aware of the other more affordable and better performing options (Sephora brand, NYX, Profusion), I don’t see any reason to spend so much on a color corrector unless luxury items like this are really your thing.

Sephora Collection Instant Moisture + Cream

s1259621-main-lheroThis cream felt really nice upon application, and I really felt like I would enjoy it. The product claims to make skin appear smoother, more radiant, and more beautiful, without the use of parabens. The product page also indicates that the formula should be suitable for sensitive skin. I used this moisturizer in place of my normal Ashley Tucker moisture (reviewed HERE) until this small sample ran out. There is an ingredient in this moisturizer that my skin just did not like. I began to get really small, under the skin blemishes after using for a few days, so I won’t be purchasing the full size of this product. If you’d like to check it out, the full size (1.69 oz) retails for $23 and has really great reviews. It just isn’t for my skin.

Urban Decay Eye Shadow Primer Potion/Original

This is the product that got left out of my order, which is a shame, because it’s the only product I have been wanting to try for some time now. I’ve heard mixed reviews on this product, especially from people with hooded eyes (like mine), and am just not sure enough to purchase the full sized product. We’ll just have to wait and see about this one.

Sephora Collection Contour Powder Brush #52

s1504521-main-lheroThis was a little bit of an uneducated purchase. I didn’t really read reviews or anything on the product itself before purchasing (try not to do this if you can), which isn’t how I normally purchase. Rather, I chose this brush due to the bristle arrangement and the price. This brush is normally listed at $26, but I got it on sale at $15 (it’s currently still this price). I thought that it would be the brush to end my still ongoing blush brush hunt. Yes, I’m still searching. I didn’t like this brush for blush, because when it arrived it was much larger than I expected. I tried it anyway after washing, and wasn’t happy with how it fit my face. The bristles were too dense and in an awkward configuration for my cheekbones. Blush brushes may sound like a no-brainer, but for some reason, I’ve never used one that I like. So instead, I began using this not for pressed powders, as the product information suggests, but for dusting translucent powder over my foundation to set. It’s also large enough and the right fluffiness to brush away any excess powder left from baking or setting specific areas. Overall, I like my brush, but it didn’t end up working out for the purpose of which I bought it.

Fresh Soy Face Cleanser & Rose Face Mask

s487694-main-lheroLastly, I received a two-piece gift from Fresh that I really fell in love with. The soy face cleanser has the faintest, light and fresh scent, and does not strip any moisture from my skin. In fact, my skin feels softer and completely cleansed after using this cleanser. I still have some of this cleanser left, and I will cherish it, because the full size can run up to $38/5.1 oz.

The Rose Face mask was unlike any mask I’ve ever used. It’s a dark brown gel-type s562090-main-lheroproduct with actual pieces of rose petals inside. It has an incredibly clean and fresh rose scent along with a little bit of fruit. It was the most luxurious smelling and feeling mask. My skin felt smoother, softer, and brighter after using this. I have run out of it, and fear this may be goodbye, because the full size of this product costs $62/3.4 oz. If I’m ever looking to splurge on this type of product in the future, I will definitely pick this up, as I’m familiar and satisfied with it’s performance.

This truly was a lovely gift from Sephora. I can’t wait to see what I get next year!

Have you been a rewards member with Sephora for longer? What are some of the things you’ve gotten as a gift from them? I’d love to hear about it!

With much love and spoons

-Feliz

 

Leave a Reply

