October’s Ipsy Glam Bag

Hello everyone and welcome back! I’ve been busy with posts and makeup looks, so I hope you’ve gotten a chance to catch up on some of those. This post is a little late – October was a rough month health-wise, and I didn’t get to test things out as much as I would have liked during the month. I’ve finally gotten everything tested out to my standards, and I’m ready to tell you about all of the cool stuff I got from Ipsy!

20161107_141145.jpg

First off, I really loved the bag design this month. Totally cute and totally Halloween appropriate. It has a textured finish that seems easy to wipe clean.

noyah Natural Lipstick: Smoke 20161107_141739.jpg

I love when Ipsy sends me things I’ve never heard of before, because it gives me more to learn about and more to share with you, so I was excited to get some in this bag. I tried the lipstick first. It’s what I’m wearing in the selfie to the right. The formula is meant to be rather sheer, with the ability to build up the intensity, and it does just that. Here I am wearing two light swipes of Smoke. The cream finish left my lips feeling so soft, almost like I was wearing a balm.

I was immediately impressed just by reading the packaging. 20161107_141908Eco-Friendly packaging on their full-sized lipsticks, no animal testing, and donations to the homeless?! Yes, please! My further research taught me that this brand was founded because the creators couldn’t find a lip balm with ingredients they could pronounce. They pride themselves on using natural ingredients like coconut oil, stevia, and beeswax (the reason they are not vegan) to make all natural products for your lips!

I browsed their site and their lipsticks are $18 each, glosses are $16 each, and their lip balms are $3.99 each. Their glosses look very pigmented. I would love to try them out, and buy some more of their lipsticks. I really love companies that make an effort to be animal and eco-friendly. I will spend a little extra to support that any chance I get.

VINTAGE by Jessica Liebskind

The first thing that made me take a second look at the eyeshadow duo I received was Jessica’s name. I knew it sounded familiar, and if it is to you too, that’s because she is a makeup artist who used to develop products for Bobbi Brown and Estee Lauder. Jessica created her line to update the good old basics, and make them even better. VINTAGE is cruelty free, and their line of brushes uses synthetic fibers. Their packaging and vintage-like prints are so pretty. I would love to own some of their brushes, especially.

I was excited to try the shadows on my eyes, because they were incredibly buttery to the touch and swatched beautifully. I was not disappointed – the espresso color was really easy to blend out, especially for a dark shade. The vanilla shade was just as buttery, and brightened up my look.

The item I received was a sample size, but they sell the full sized palettes on their site for $30. It’s a little pricey for an eye shadow duo, but since the formula is so buttery and velvety I really think the price is appropriate. Their brushes are a little pricey as well, but I think they’d make a nice luxurious gift for someone, or treat to yourself.

NYX Vivid Brights: Gunmetal/VBL10

I really love NYX products, but sadly I’m allergic to their liquid eyeliners. I haven’t pinpointed the ingredient yet, but my skin doesn’t like something about it.  My skin starts to burn upon application and becomes red and inflamed if I wear for more than one day in a row. But I wore this one for a day to give it a proper review. The formula is like other NYX liners so you know it stays put for at least 8 hours of wear without flaking or smudging. This particular shade is highly reflective metallic, and did wonders for brightening my eye look.

If I wasn’t allergic, I’d definitely be buying more shades of this. The Vivd Brights sell on NYX’s site for only $7 each, and there are beautiful shades to add to your collection. As you know, NYX is cruelty free, although it is owned by L’Oreal, which is not. For now I’ll be sticking to their dry liner formulas instead.

Sally’s Box Aqua Moist Gel Cream

This item was the most interesting to me in this month’s bag. I’ve never used a product of this consistency for moisturizer. It smells beautifully fresh and clean, and leaves the skin feeling very moisturized without any greasiness or residue left behind. I definitely noticed an improvement in my face’s overall texture because my skin was so plump and full due to this intense moisture treatment. Sea water, roses, chamomile, and lavender are a few of the natural and soothing ingredients in this formula. I absolutely love it.

Sally’s Box is a brand of coveted Korean beauty products and skincare. I could not seem to find a way to shop directly from their site, but found the gel cream available through several Asian beauty third party sellers online. In the past, I have had trouble locating Asian skincare online. Some products are nearly impossible to get ahold of, so you may not have much luck finding this product. Please comment down below with your favorite site to buy Korean skincare products – I would love to check it out!

Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Invisible Cover Fluid Foundation: Y335

I was most excited to get a chance to try this foundation, because I’ve been looking for my holy grail for some time now and I really love MakeUp Forever. Unfortunately, however, this is not the one. I love the weightlessness and thinner consistency of this formula. The coverage is phenomenal, and dries quickly. My skin was left looking like skin, and not like caked on makeup. My problem comes from wear time. Foundation tends to fade a little around my nose and mouth area during the day if I don’t prime and set it properly. When primed and set with powder and setting spray, I tend to see slight fading, but not to the degree I experienced with this foundation. By the end of the day, I had a very distinct line around my nose and mouth where the foundation wore completely away, and I was left with only bare skin. I tried several different primers, setting powders, and setting sprays, and just could not make this foundation work.

I’m just thankful I got to try this in a sample size and didn’t have to spend the $43 for a bottle of foundation I don’t like. This foundation comes in 40 shades, which sounds great, but only about 4 of those are deep tones, so there’s 36 shades that cater to lighter skin. Their HD foundation also comes in a solid stick formula that I’d love to try. I wonder if it’s different enough that I won’t have the fading problem. For now, I’ll try to find something else that works for me.


I really love that I got some new brands in my bag this month, and was challenged in terms of testing products. I can’t wait to see what November’s bag will bring me! Did you get any of the same items I did? What did you think?

Please don’t hesitate to put any comments or questions below, or send them to my twitter! You know how to reach me.

With much love

-Feliz

Leave a Reply

