August’s Ipsy Glam Bag

Hello, everyone and welcome (back) to my blog. I hope you enjoyed my August Goodies post, and my recent movie look. It’s that time again to review my iPsy bag! This month’s Glam Bag was a nice one. I didn’t receive a single item that I didn’t like or won’t use.

20160830_164242

The bag, to start off with, was really beautiful. My items inside totally match it, too! The alternate bag this month had turquoise instead of pink and purple, and I’m so happy I got the purple. It’s always been one of my favorite colors.

The first item I tried was the Ciate London paint pot in PP150 – Spinning Teacup. How cute is that color name! They sent a full-sized item, which is always a nice surprise. I’m really particular about nail polishes, and I compare every single one to Essie. Essie is my favorite. It dries fast, wears long, and has a formula that has a long life so you can actually use the entire bottle of polish without it separating and drying up. Ciate stacked up pretty well with everything except dry time. I’m inpatient, but I can endure a slightly tacky nail for longer if the wear time is adequate. Another thing I liked about it was the color doesn’t transfer if you brush your nails on paperwork. I don’t like when polishes leave marks everywhere!

Ciate sells most of their paint pots directly from their site for around $17 each. You can also find this brand at Sephora (it appears Sephora only has mini paint pots). I didn’t know anything at all about Ciate, except their cute packaging I’ve seen around. The company is owned by a woman, and is completely vegan, cruelty, formaldehyde, toluene and DBP, camphor, and formaldehyde resin, FREE! I think I just got sold my next $17 bottle of nail polish, because those are some amazing credentials.

The next item in my bag I was excited to try was the Beauty For Real I-Line 24-7 liner in Black Magic. This gel liner is indeed magic. It goes on amazingly smooth and easily, and remains so for up to 10 seconds, giving you some time to smudge, blend, and more. I haven’t tried wearing it for a full 24 hours, but I’ve worn it both on my upper  and my lower lash line. The color stayed put even on my lower lash line for 12 hours until I removed it myself! I have allergies that affect my eyes a lot. Throughout the day I’m always poking, scratching and pulling at my eyes because things can get pretty miserable. This liner stood up to my abuse, so I’m a fan now.

I knew nothing about this brand either until iPsy introduced me. The brand’s founder is extremely influential and pivotal in the high end beauty community. This particular item is paraben and cruelty free, and made in the USA (but not all of their items are). Their eyeliner is listed for $14 on their site, and they have free US shipping!

This next item is my favorite in the bag. The it Haircare 12-in-one amazing leave in treatment really made a difference in my hair. 20160901_151907.jpgAfter only one wash, I can confidently say that this treatment did all of these things for me. (To remind you) I wash my hair at night and sleep on it after it dries in order to help my frizz (it really only helps a little bit). My hair is soft, has more volume, more body, feels silky, looks shiny, and isn’t full of static at all. It has a fantastic fresh, clean scent that doesn’t linger past its welcome. It smelled great while wet, good earlier the next morning, and now my hair has a very light scent. The size of this bottle is 3.4 oz which is the “Travel Size”. It’s listed on their site for only $5.99. They also have larger bottles that are listed for $9.99, and $14.99.

This cruelty free product is made by Key brands, which (surprise, surprise) I knew nothing about. My research tells me that this hair and skincare products manufacturer is actually focused on cruelty-free ingredients, reducing waste, and environmental impact. I love it. You can find their products at drug and large retail stores all over the US, and increasingly, internationally as well.

I got another NYX product! WHOOT! I love NYX, you all know that. Their liquid illuminator wasn’t the first I’ve tried, so I actually have another to compare it to. If you read my first post, you know that I am a huge fan of L’Oreal’s Lumi cream illuminator, and even used it for makeup looks for really important photoshoots. So, when I say that the NYX one is better than that, it’s saying a lot. I feel like the light-reflecting power of NYX’s is more intense, and the formula blends in better when mixing it in with foundation/BB cream. The L’Oreal cream illuminator runs around $11, and NYX’s is only $7.50. (BUY THE NYX ONE) Although they are both manufactured by L’Oreal (which is not cruelty free), NYX is cruelty free.

The final item in the post is also the final one I got a chance to try. This rose facial cleansing gel from The Organic Pharmacy smells a little odd at first, but once you rinse it off, it smells amazing. I love the smell of roses, and I know they’re very soothing for the skin, so I wasn’t surprised how much I liked this product. I used this to wash my face in the mornings (I do my major face routine at night, in the mornings I just gently wash), and was left with soft skin that didn’t even require moisturizer before my makeup. My skin seemed to stay fresher throughout the day, my highlight seemed to sit better, and my face didn’t even get oily! If this product was a little less expensive, I might consider buying it. But, it is listed at $85 on their site! That’s a little too expensive for my skincare budget. If you have the money and need something soothing, however, this might be a good choice for you. The fact that they make everything homeopathic and herbal makes me want to assume they’re vegan. A lot of their individual product descriptions do indicate cruelty free, but I can’t seem to find anything specific from the brand itself.

Overall I’m completely satisfied with my August Glam Bag. Did you get the same items I did this month? As always, let me know if you have any questions. You know where to find me.

Love you

-Feliz

Leave a Reply

