My First Influenster Box!

Hello everyone, and welcome (back) to my blog! I hope you enjoyed my review of my first Profusion Insider box. I had a lot of fun trying out brand new products. I hope you got something out of it as well.

Today’s post is about Influenster, an online site that provides free products for users to review* based on their social media presence and ability to stay on top of the latest products. I got hooked on Influenster from an Instagram post, and I’ve had a lot of fun reviewing products I’ve tried, and answering questions other Influensters have.

I was really excited to be chosen to receive the Bonita VoxBox, because I knew it contained beauty products (my favorite!). The contents were as featured above, along with a FiberOne bar, which I ate immediately before photographing. It was a brownie bar that definitely didn’t taste like a fiber supplement. I have been meaning to get my hands on a box of those, by the way.

The first product I tried was the Sinful Colors porcelain matte polish. I’ve never been a fan of Sinful Colors polishes, because in my experience they dry out inside the bottle quickly, clump up a lot, and don’t have very long wear periods, but I thought I’d give them another try for Influenster.

20160725_143722.jpg

I wasn’t excited about the color they sent me, and wasn’t expecting much from the matte finish. If you’ve ever worn a matte finish, you may have had a similar experience as I have – they smooth out the longer you wear them, meaning, they lose their matte finish as the polish gets worn down during your everyday activities. This polish was no different, and on the morning of day two of wear, my manicure was, indeed much smoother and shinier than I would like from a polish claiming to be “matte”. You can see it starting to smooth in the photo above. It began to chip on the third day, and after the fourth day, I became frustrated, and covered the old color with an Essie polish. Much better.

20160722_100028

The next product I tried was by far my favorite (aside from the FiberOne brownie) in the box. The photo above is an un-retouched photo of my skin (with BB cream), and how smooth it has become since I’ve started using this toner. I use Dickinson’s in the morning after washing my face before applying my moisturizer and makeup, and again in the evening after removing my makeup, washing my face, and before applying my moisturizer. I apply the witch hazel to a round cotton pad until it’s moist all the way through. I then rub it over my face and neck and wait a few minutes before doing anything else. I know some moisturizing and anti-aging products can sting if you apply them too quickly after cleansing. I’ve noticed this witch hazel toner remoes anything left behind from washing my face (extra makeup, dead skin) in a very gentle and refreshing way. It then preps the skin for moisturizing products, and instantly  makes skin feel and look smoother. I don’t think I will be going without this product ever again. Since it’s so affordable (under $10) I won’t have any problem adding it to my routine.

I next tried the lipstick samples from Revlon not expecting anything special, but I was pleasantly surprised. The Super Lustrious lipstick wore just like any silky non-matte lipstick I’ve tried. It didn’t have a very long wear time (I’ve used Maybelline lipsticks that last all day), and didn’t do anything out of the ordinary in terms of moisture. I was more impressed by the Ultra HD Matte lip color. My first impression was how amazing it smelled. It had a distinctly coconut-y smell to it. This lip color had a longer wear time than the Super Lustrious lip. The consistency of the product is almost whipped, and it’s very smooth on the lips. It didn’t dry my skin out, and comes in some really great colors. Although I like it, however, I won’t be purchasing the Ultra HD Matte, as Revlon is not a cruelty free brand.

The last product I tried was the Madame CJ Walker Beauty Culture Dream Come True Wonderful pre-wash protein treatment, and the conditioning masque. I’m very picky when it comes to hair products, so I was uncertain what the outcome would be. As instructed, I applied the pre-wash treatment to my wet hair, and let it set for 15 minutes. It smells really dreamy with a hint of lilac, which is my favorite scent. When I rinsed it out before shampooing with my Shea Moisture shampoo my hair felt really slick and smooth. After shampooing and rinsing, I applied the conditioning masque, which smelled and felt exactly the same as the pre-wash treatment, and left in for about half an hour, because I lost track of time. The masque was very difficult to rinse out. It took me much longer than usual.

I wash my hair at night, because I don’t like using the hair dryer, and find that sleeping on my hair helps the kinks and frizz smooth out naturally so my hair is ready to style in the morning. Upon waking the next morning before applying my usual serums and leave-in conditioners, I wasn’t impressed. The only difference I noted in my hair was more waves. My hair smells great, but doesn’t feel any different than using my normal shampoo and conditioner. I understand, that some products work much more effectively if used regularly. These products recommend at least once a week use. To be fair, using it as directed would probably provide more obvious results, but as far as I can tell through these samples, this product just isn’t for me. These retail at $32 per 6ozs on Sephora’s website. At that price, I may as well stick to my usual products that are working just fine.

There are several activities on Influenster’s site that should be completed in return for receiving these free items. They include things such as posting photos to social media, tweeting about products, and blogging about the experience. Completing these tasks gives me a better chance of receiving another box in the future. I did enjoy trying out these new products, and sharing my reviews and various images, so I hope you enjoyed hearing about them. Let’s cross our fingers in hopes that Influenster will send me another box, and I’ll have much more to share with you all!

Have you tried any of these products or brands before? What did you think about them. Do you have any questions for me? Please let me know in the comments below, via Twitter, on Instagram, or above in the Contact section.

Next, I plan to share an exciting review of Pink Poison Cosmetics makeup brush cleaner. I cannot wait to tell you about this one, so keep an eye out for it. I also have a few products I’ve picked up here and there throughout the month that I really want to talk about as well. I’m looking forward to it.

Love you!

-Feliz

 

*The products in this post were sent for free by Influenster in exchange for complete and honest reviews. Although I received these items complimentary, all of the statements and opinions above are my own.

Leave a Reply

